Coding Data

I used grounded theory again, coding raw data into emergent categories but this time linking to theory where possible as well. The main categories soon became clear this time with a number of sub-categories under each one.
Andy offered some critisism of the method, suggesting that it was overly time-consuming. I defended this on the grounds that I was learning and making connections whilst doing this. Paying such close attention to what has actually been said draws out meaning and makes it clearer.
Now to draw some conclusions from my analysis, have the actions of the first cycle moved me nearer to the values I began to identify in the assumptions stated in the research proposal?
What should I be questioning in my double loop?
Then on to make plans for actions for the second cycle.

Leave a Reply

