Twitter is important and injenuity

I found Jennifer’s blog because she started following me on Twitter. I’ve been using Twitter for a while but mostly to follow people I’ve had contact with on or off line. I’ve started to see how it can become more useful today. It’s partly because I now use Twitterific so it sits on my desktop the whole time and takes no effort to update/ read updates. Now some of the stuff is undoubtedly trivia but I’ve started to think there’s nothing wrong with that. It’s just like a quick chat with someone from another department you vaguely know that you might have in the lift. It makes the day more friendly, helps you feel rooted. Now that’s important stuff in this online world! Anyway, by looking at who she follows on Twitter I found lots of other interesting edtech people and expanded my network. Then I looked at their blogs and found some really good stuff 🙂 So that’s my feed reader full, again!

One of the most interesting things Jennifer had to say, (apart from the fact that Twitter got her a job!) was this:

injenuity

What if we could increase the size of “The Network” ten fold. There are about 100 or so active ed techies in the network putting in more than a full day’s work of discovery every day. That’s certainly not enough people to stimulate change in educating our children or our workforce.What if, instead of discovering new tools, for one day we discover ten more people to add to the network. Do we really need a hundred social networking tools? Would we be better off with a hundred new techie teachers?

Answers on a postcard 🙂

If anyone wants to add me on Twitter I’m lindiop – don’t be shy 🙂

2 thoughts on “Twitter is important and injenuity

  1. Hi Linda – an interesting question. The sheer weight of social style content is incredible, for each tool there is about 5 to 10 alternatives. This can only be a good thing I suppose as it gives the audience better choice. But sometimes we need to be guided to the best products, the best tools and to be advised which to avoid, ignore etc. So with the growing breadth of tools I would say yes we need more edtech aware people to act as guides. We need them to show others, who are only at the edge of the woods, looking in, a safe and worthwhile path through.

  2. Hi Tom
    I think it’s often not even about the ‘best’ tools. There are better, more sophisticated tools for ‘micro-blogging’ than Twitter. There’s now a critical mass of edtech people using Twitter.
    If you can get a group of less techie people to all join Twitter together, help them to integrate into the community and find interesting people (and not just individuals – have a look at theK12 online Twitter stream) to follow then I think that’s worth doing. The easiest place to do that is Twitter.
    I think we need a balance, I know I can get very wrapped up in finding new, exciting tools and Ingenuity’s post came as a good reminder that drawing more people in from the edge of the woods and sharing what I already know might sometimes be more useful 🙂

Leave a Reply

