Look and listen

Listen

I’m following my twitter friend Amy’s series on photography with great interest. Amy is always a great source of inspiration and I really love the way she mixes words and images. Her first couple of posts on the theme have made me think hard about why I’m not taking many photos these day and I think I’ve worked it out.

Mostly I have always photographed scenery, nature, flowers, things I think of as beautiful. I make an exception for Paris because though it is undoubtedly a city to me it is one of the most beautiful places in the world. However, the city I now live in does not look beautiful to me.

Now I’m prepared to believe that this is just me, that the beauty is there if only I could find it. So that what I’m going to try to do for the next few weeks. I’m going to take my camera everywhere with me and try to find some beauty here every day.

The trouble with this image is, I fear, I’m looking at the sky and the river, listening to the quiet, and filtering out the city. Generally not what I’m trying for but it’s a start.

One thought on “Look and listen

  1. Oh, I’m so glad, Linda 🙂 I really do think it’ll make a difference to how you view your immediate environment. Can’t wait to hear how you get on with it!

Leave a Reply

