Time Out – lesson for today

My significant learning for today comes, as so often, via Andy. I’d noticed he was getting much better at taking regular breaks and he told me about this free mac application that was helping him.

Timeout gradually blanks out your screen and forces you to take a very short nanobreak (10 seconds – just time to blink and stretch) every 10 minutes and a 10 minute break every 50 minutes. You can choose to delay the break or change the transparency of the grey out so you can carry on reading.

I decided it might be an idea to impose a software solution on the problem of eye tiredness after my visit to the optician last week. I got new stronger glasses and a short lecture on eye strain and computer use.

I’ve only been using Timeout for a few hours but I’ve already learned something. Here’s my good advice for you – stop reading this and go to the loo, your bladder will thank you and I’ll still be here when you get back!

Leave a Reply

