Contour drawing

Today I learned a bit about contour drawing. The course materials were interesting enough but I’ve noticed how my attention really comes into focus with the tiny bits of video. Perhaps it would be like this for my learners too. I need to think about adding some video to my online courses. I was so relieved to see a friendly face calmly going over what I’d been learning. Human contact. Maybe static images and text is not enough when you are exploring such a visual subject.

Meanwhile I made a total mess of the contour drawing. You, or at least I, would think that drawing my own familiar coffee cup (which I potted myself BTW!) would be a doddle. We’d both be wrong! I ended up with something that could have been drawn by a chimp. Gah! I used to be able to draw things that at least were recognisable. What happened???

Leave a Reply

