Walking Reflection

Walking reflection - in the 'village'

I spent the first part of my walk today listening to a sort of internal mantra. I don’t know where it came from but I found it very helpful.

“Let the rhythm of your steps carry you forward”

And so it did, much further than I had intended. On past the duck pond, through the deserted park and all the way to ‘the village’. (OK so it really isn’t a village, just a suburb of London but is has a village green & everything!) The sun shone, the sky was blue and the air was cold. There was a biting wind. I had mental space and time to do some deep thinking.

Once there I bumped into a former student and exchanged a few pleasantries. This does not happen in London! I wandered on and then I grabbed some fat balls for my feathered friends and jumped a bus part of the way home. I still got off at the pond and walked back from there. All in all around 50 minutes of walking. About twice what I’d meant to do but some days the air is so fresh and the sky is so blue and you just have to:

“Let the rhythm of your steps carry you forward”

BTW – Anyone know where I got this phrase? Google can’t find it but I don’t think I made it up…..

Leave a Reply

