Stand Up or Die

Similar to my iCurve from Amazon


I’m experimenting with standing up to work this month. I’m starting slow, because it is not easy! I decided to actually use my pomodoro timer  (which is a lemon not a tomato at all LOL!) and just stand for 5 minutes at a time 2 or 3 times a day. In my usual skinflint way this will involve using what I already have rather than investing in expensive equipment. I think it would be great to have a multi-purpose standing desk with a treadmill facility but I like my nomadic, work-anywhere tendencies too much. I don’t have a dedicated workspace and I like it that way. My findings so far are

  1. I need to put down a foam mat to make it more comfortable
  2. It is really important not to lock my knees or put all my weight on one hip.
  3. Standing with legs slightly apart and knees bent works best.
  4. The iCurve stand on the sideboard is just about the right height.
  5. Timing it is quite worthwhile, it’s too easy to lose track and over do it, leading to aches and pains or locking hip/knees.
  6. I would like to be doing 10 minutes standing 4 times a day by the end of September.
  7. My calf muscles ache a bit, but in a good hurt sort of way.
  8. It is quite good for writing quick notes or for checking email.
  9. I need to experiment with other spots in the house. My idea is that I vary where I do it not swap one rigid placement for another.
  10. Change is disruptive and that brings  up creative possibilities 🙂 I like that!
I like this too but it’s nearly £500 and where would I put it?? (Amazon again)

2 thoughts on “Stand Up or Die

  1. Go, Linda! I can’t stand up to work, but am doing the next best thing – before sitting down each time I set an alarm for 30 minutes, and when it goes off get up and do some quick exercising. And when I’m at the computer I jiggle as much as possible!

    I look forward to reading about your progress 🙂

  2. Aw , thanks Isha 🙂 Yesterday I managed 4 x 5 minute sessions between pomodoros. I’m aiming to keep that up for the rest of the week. I’m finding it easier to actually jiggle about that stand still so that’s good. Just standing might not be the best thing for my veins so I’m being careful.

Leave a Reply

