Drawing on the Right Side of the Brain

Drawing on the Right Side of the Brain Workbook
Find it on Amazon


I bought myself the New Drawing on the Right Side of the Brain Workbook: Guided Practice in the Five Basic Skills of Drawing
recently. I had the original book for years and have worked through some of the exercises a number of times. I never finished them all though, always getting stuck round about the same point. I thought having the workbook might just make the difference.

I was really pleased when it arrived and decided that I would do the unthinkable. I would actually ‘use’ the workbook! That’s right! I’m drawing straight into the book! I’m refusing to listen to all those old voices telling me ‘You’ll ruin it’ or ‘it’s wrong to draw in your books’. It is a very liberating and joyful release. I may do more of it!

I’ve worked through a few of the exercises and felt that I’d like to start from the beginning again. You can do that. There are these things called erasers! There are a few of us on the 30 Minutes 30 Days Creativity Challenge Facebook group who are going to work through the exercises each Sunday.

We are starting with this one. The face/vase exercise.

Drawing on the RIght Side of the Brain Vase/Face
Drawing on the Right Side of the Brain Vase/Face

I cannot tell you how  hard I found this. The point of the drawing is show how hard it is to draw if you have activated your speech and language centre. You can only do it really effectively when you stop identifying the parts of the face and just draw what you see. Sounds simple? Try it! You can find it here  if you’d like to try it.

After 30 minutes I’ve decided my facial recognition area is defiantly over-active and in charge! I’ve always had a bit of trouble with this particular optical illusion. My brain sees the faces and often refuses to see the vase. Even when I turn it upside down my brain goes ‘Oh look, two faces the wrong way up’! My final attempt got some bits right. If I’d had longer I think I’d have made a grid on the paper and used that to guide me. As it was I did make some guide dots, turned the paper upside down and used the eraser, a lot!

Banner by Lisa - click through to learn more
Banner by Lisa – click through to learn more

I’m joining in the 30 Days- 30 Minutes Creativity Challenge organised by Lisa of Ragbaby. I like the idea of this challenge because it seems fairly achievable. The days do not need to be consecutive so that takes the pressure off. I know I’m happier if I do manage to do something creative most days and I get more other stuff done, so this should help keep me going. I’ve also added it to my Joes Goals to keep track of it.

Categories Art

2 thoughts on “Drawing on the Right Side of the Brain

  1. I didn’t know there was a workbook! I just have the book but I have the same block about ruining things with workbooks anyway. I’m amazed this was so difficult. I wasn’t expecting it to be easy to mirror the image, but I also wasn’t prepared for my brain just locking up and my pencil to stop moving!

    1. It’s a shock isn’t it? There were points where my brain was almost screaming ‘chin, chin, that’s curving the wrong way for a chin!’ and I couldn’t visually hold onto the direction my pencil needed to move. My brain was jam afterwards! Took ages to write the post 🙂

Leave a Reply

