Drawing on the Right Side of the Brain – 2

Drawing on the Right Side of the Brain this week – been down so long it looks like up to me!

This week’s challenge was to copy a drawing upside down. The theory is that this bypasses the left brain language centre and allows you to draw just what you see. I rushed this a bit and ended up not very pleased with the result. Still I can see that it would have been harder to try to copy it the right way up. I’ll share both the horse and an earlier attempt at the exercise. The main thing that’s going on is getting the proportions wrong. My horse ended up more like The Old Grey Mare than the prancing colt of the original. Still there were moments when it worked and I’m keen to carry on.

horse drawing
First draw it upside down

Then turn it the right way up:

horse drawing
The old grey mare ain’t wot she used to be….

 

As well as these I thought I’d add the ones I did from the book before the challenge started:

You can click through if you want to see them in more detail.

 

Banner by Lisa - click through to learn more
Banner by Lisa 30 Minutes 30 Days Creativity Challenge Facebook group

There are a few of us on the 30 Minutes 30 Days Creativity Challenge Facebook group who are going to work through the exercises in this book each Sunday.

New Drawing on the Right Side of the Brain Workbook: Guided Practice in the Five Basic Skills of Drawing

2 thoughts on “Drawing on the Right Side of the Brain – 2

    1. Aw thanks, feel free to copy it. Actually I think it’s a huge compliment so thanks and hugs! I’ll look forward to seeing it. I think the original is anonymous anyway.

Leave a Reply

