Contour Drawing Drives Me Nuts

Today’s Drawing on the Right Side of the Brain exercise is pure contour drawing. You are supposed to draw without looking at the paper. To make it force your brain function to switch into visual mode you have to draw something fairly abstract, like the lines on the palm of your cupped hand. It really is all about the process as the end result is indecipherable!

So I sort of did it, 5 minutes with a timer, and it was far more difficult than I could ever have imagined. The first time I was sure I’d drawn everything there was to see, so I stopped and checked the timer. Maybe it wasn’t working, er, no, I’d only lasted about one minute.

Then I tried again. I managed about 3 minutes and I never did get to the stage of finding the tangle of lines interesting in themselves that’s supposed to happen. I’m going to have to keep working at this one.

I’m blaming a summer cold! I guess that leaves around 25 minutes of creativity to catch up on! I’ll get to that later!

There are a few of us on the 30 Minutes 30 Days Creativity Challenge Facebook group who are going to work through the exercises in this book each Sunday.

New Drawing on the Right Side of the Brain Workbook: Guided Practice in the Five Basic Skills of Drawing

 

Leave a Reply

