My Hats

my winter hat
My winter hat

Welcome to my collection of hats,
There are so many.
Here are my every day hats,
Carelessly thrown down in a corner,
Ready to grab on my way out or stuff in a pocket.
The cosy woollen one, made with love and friendship,
The linen sun hat that protects me from the glare of the world.
Others are not so comfortable,
This one is stiff and a little too tight,
A teacher’s hat, it no longer quite fits and I long to be rid of it.
Still it sits on the shelf, ready for the days when I have to wear it.
These two in pretty hat boxes are old and precious,
Put away,
Wrapped in tissue paper and tears.

(Found this poem from last year’s journal and decided I still like it.)

2 thoughts on “My Hats

Leave a Reply

